Love?

So since I’ve been gone I feel like I need to catch up. By posting twice within 10 minutes. No, I really don’t have anything better to do right now.  Anyways, the topic at hand is love. True, unconditional, unrequited. Oh, unrequited love. You know, love that isn’t reciprocated. When you really really like or love someone who doesn’t feel the same way. I read that 98% of people will experience this at some point in their lives. It has also been said that this type of love is as painful as that felt when you end an actual relationship. I wonder if it is possible to really be heartbroken over a relationship that never was? I will tell you, I am beginning to think it is possible.

But what is love, really? I still think I have yet to experience it. A few times sure had me fooled, but then I realized it was definitely not love. I think it’s VERY difficult to understand the difference between love and lust, however. Watch out, because that lust will really getcha! Another thing I also wonder is if love is something that you instantly know right away.  I know it is possible to not in the least be interested in someone and then gradually develop feelings. Hence the term “falling in love”. But I guess I always just thought it is something that you just KNOW. Not something that you just eventually do.

I am not sure why I have recently had this on my mind so much. Everyone thinks it’s crazy coming from me, the girl who has always loved being single, free, and anti-relationship.  Maybe I’m just getting older. Maybe it’s something that deep down inside I have really wanted but just pretended not to.

In the words of India Arie….. I am ready for love.

About thisisthenewthirty

I'm just a thirty-year-old single gal with a lot on her mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

